Schwartzman, Monfils Headline In Estoril; All You Need To Know

Portugal has had a place on the ATP Tour calendar since 1990, and the action returns in 2021 at the Millennium Estoril Open, an ATP 250 event.

Staged at the Clube de Ténis do Estoril since 2015, this year’s edition features a strong field of Top 20 players with top-notch clay-court credentials. Diego Schwartzman leads the way, looking for his second trophy of the year after triumphing at home in Buenos Aires. Three of Schwartzman’s four career titles have come on the red dirt.

Santiago champion Cristian Garin is also set to make his debut in Portugal, joined by Gael Monfils and 2017 champion Pablo Carreno Busta. Garin is going for his sixth clay court crown, while Carreno Busta recently lifted his fifth tour-level trophy in Marbella. Joao Sousa, who became the first Portuguese-born player to celebrate a tour-level title on home soil with his emotional victory in 2018, will return with a wild card.

Here’s all you need to know about the Estoril tennis tournament: when is the draw, what is the schedule, where to watch, who won and more.

Established: 2015

Tournament Dates: Monday 26 April – Sunday 2 May 2021 

Tournament Director: Joao Zilhao

Draw Ceremony: Saturday, 24 April at 3:00pm

Are You In? Subscribe To Get Tournament Updates In Your Inbox


Are You In? Subscribe Now!


Schedule (View On Official Website)
* Qualifying: Saturday & Sunday at 11:00am
* Main draw: Monday 26 April – Sunday 2 May at 10:30am
* Doubles final: Sunday, 2 May TBA
* Singles final: Sunday, 2 May TBA

How To Watch
Watch Live On Tennis TV
TV Schedule

Venue: Clube de Tenis do Estoril
Main Court Seating: 3,700

Prize Money: €419,470 (Total Financial Commitment: €481,270) 

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds, Points & Prize Money Breakdown

Honour Roll (Open Era)
Most Titles, Singles: Richard Gasquet, Nicolas Almagro, Pablo Carreno Busta, Joao Sousa, Stefanos Tsitsipas (1)
Most Titles, Doubles: Scott Lipsky (2)
Oldest Champion: Nicolas Almagro, 30, in 2016
Youngest Champion: Stefanos Tsitsipas, 20, in 2019
Highest-Ranked Champion: No. 10 Stefanos Tsitsipas in 2019
Lowest-Ranked Champion: No. 71 Nicolas Almagro in 2016
Last Home Champion: Joao Sousa in 2018
Most Match Wins: Pablo Carreno Busta (13)

2019 Finals
Singles: [1] Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE) d [LL] Pablo Cuevas (URU)  63 76(4)   Read & Watch
Doubles: Jeremy Chardy (FRA) / Fabrice Martin (FRA) d Luke Bambridge (GBR) / Jonny O’Mara (GBR) 75 76(3)  Read More

Hashtag: #EstorilOpen

Facebook: @millenniumestorilopen
Twitter: @estorilopen
Instagram: @estorilopen

Did You Know?
Stefanos Tsitsipas won his first ATP Tour clay-court title at the Millennium Estoril Open in 2019. He went on to triumph at the Nitto ATP Finals in London later that same year.

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

More in:Tennis

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *